Tesco School Chef of the Year

The search is on for Tesco School Chef of the Year 2017!

Last year, Mullahead Ploughing Match launched their inaugural School Chef of the Year competition in conjunction with Tesco & NI Year of Food & Drink. Cassie from St Catherine’s College took the crown in 2016, but entries are now open to all secondary school children for their chance to fight for the 2017 title and £1000 in cash for their school.

The competition aims to highlight food provenance, educating pupils and families of the journey from farm to fork. Pupils are asked to prepare a recipe made entirely from local produce and our panel of judges will choose six finalists to take part in a live ‘Cook-Off’ in the Mullahead Food Tent on the 25th February at Richardson Estate Moyallon.

Kenny Gracey, Chairman of Mullahead DPS commented; “The 2016 School Chef of the Year” competition was a huge success and our judges Jilly Dougan (Yellow Door) and Sean Farnan (Moody Boar) were blown away by the cooking talent of our competitors. We hope teachers and parents get behind the competition again this year and we are certain the standards of cooking will be even higher!”

The six finalists will each receive a plaque and a £50 Tesco Giftcard while the winner will notonly receive a trophy but also £1000 in cash for their school and £100 Tesco Giftcard for themselves -a fantastic prize!

Food provenance and the quality of Northern Ireland produce has been a cause Mullahead have promoted for many years, hosting numerous local food producers in the Food Marquee. This is a message shared by the Match’s headline sponsor Tesco and has also resulted in sponsorship by Tourism NI under their NI Year of Food & Drink initiative. Mullahead hope to expand their Food Marquee even further in 2017 by welcoming more artisan Northern Ireland food producers under Tourism NI’s “Love Local” campaign.

If you would like more info on taking part, please email [email protected] 

Please note: The competition is open to secondary school pupils in  Year 8, 9 & 10 only. Schools must be in the ABC Council area.